Click Here For Free Blog Backgrounds!!!
Blogaholic Designs

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist Wednesday is hosted by Pen to Paper.
This is a blog hop focused on books in our wishlist.
This week I'm wishing for:
Eros the Bittersweet
Eros the Bittersweet
by Anne Carson
Find it on Goodreads:
A book about love as seen by the ancients, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with: "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her. What does the word mean?", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view and styles, transcending the constraints of the scholarly exercise for an evocative and lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos William's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

I can't remember when or how I cam across this. It's not strictly a book. It's essays written in poetry. Long love poetry that is 189 pages. It was published in 1998. And I want it. Carson explores the Greek view of Eros, or desire. I don't typically like poetry so I am a little nervous spending so much money on it. But I feel like it's one of those things I just have to try.

Have you read it? What did you think? Have you even heard of it before? Let me know,

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for the comment!

LinkWithin

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...