Click Here For Free Blog Backgrounds!!!
Blogaholic Designs

Monday, May 12, 2014

Book Review: Green-Eyed Demon by Jaye Wells

Green-Eyed Demon (Sabina Kane, #3)Rating: 5 Stars
Author: Jaye Wells
Publisher: Orbit
Summary from Goodreads:
Things to do:

1. Rescue sister.
2. Murder grandmother.
3. Don't upset the voodoo priestess.

The clock is ticking for Sabina Kane. Her sister has been kidnapped by her grandmother, the Dark Races are on the brink of war, and a mysterious order is manipulating everyone behind the scenes.

Working on information provided by an unlikely ally, Sabina and her trusty sidekicks--a sexy mage named Adam Lazarus and Giguhl, a Mischief demon--head to New Orleans to begin the hunt for her sister. Once there, they must contend with belligerent werewolves, magic-wielding vampires and--perhaps most frightening of all--humans.

But as much as Sabina is focused on surviving the present, the past won't be ignored. Before she can save those she cares about most, she must save herself from the ghosts of her past.

This is only the third book I've read this year. College is kicking my ass. Anyway, I loved this book!

Sabina, Adam, and Giguhl are charged with getting Maisie back from Lavinia. Much to Sabina's chagrin they are forced to except help from a human voodoo master and an gay/trans fairy.

The book is full of action. And not like shitty thrown in there for shits and gigs action. True, edge of your seat action with a purpose action. I really missed reading interesting books!

Sabina is much more tolerable. I must admit I've always liked Sabina. But she is growing into herself and it makes me so happy for her. Being a person she does make mistakes but she is getting better at not going all guns blazing and fucking shit up. She does fuck shit up, but I said she's getting better. This relates in her allowing her relationship with Adam to progress. Their chemistry in this one is adorable and sexy. And I have waited for 2 books for Sabina to put herself first and realize it's ok to love not just herself but someone else. 

Holy shit that ending!! That was just indescribable. I cried my fucking eyes out.

I also appreciate the way Wells handled the trans thing with PW. It was not derogatory. PW simply is a trans person. There were no jokes at her expense.

I literally can not think of one thing I didn't like about this book. Sadly I've read that the next two go down the shitter.

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

Wishlist Wednesday

Wishlist Wednesday is hosted by Pen to Paper.
This is a blog hop focused on books in our wishlist.
This week I'm wishing for:
Eros the Bittersweet
Eros the Bittersweet
by Anne Carson
Find it on Goodreads:
A book about love as seen by the ancients, Eros is Anne Carson's exploration of the concept of "eros" in both classical philosophy and literature. Beginning with: "It was Sappho who first called eros 'bittersweet.' No one who has been in love disputes her. What does the word mean?", Carson examines her subject from numerous points of view and styles, transcending the constraints of the scholarly exercise for an evocative and lyrical meditation in the tradition of William Carlos William's Spring and All and William H. Gass's On Being Blue.

I can't remember when or how I cam across this. It's not strictly a book. It's essays written in poetry. Long love poetry that is 189 pages. It was published in 1998. And I want it. Carson explores the Greek view of Eros, or desire. I don't typically like poetry so I am a little nervous spending so much money on it. But I feel like it's one of those things I just have to try.

Have you read it? What did you think? Have you even heard of it before? Let me know,


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...